About the Awards

Established in 1980, the ASVO has a long and distinguished history within the Australian wine industry, playing a critical role in leading the professional knowledge development, through running cutting-edge technical viticultural and winemaking seminars around topical industry issues, networking industry professionals, holding the key triennial Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference in partnership with the Australian Wine Research Institute and in the publishing of the world’s highest ranked peer-reviewed viticulture and wine scientific journal, the Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research.

The following awards are presented:
• The ASVO Viticulturist of the Year Award –  this award is proudly sponsored by Bayer CropScience and aims to honour an outstanding viticulturist involved in the development of a novel and significant viticultural innovation or the introduction of a novel viticultural practice over the previous five years;
• The ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award – this award is sponsored by ASVO and aims to recognise a winemaker within the industry who has demonstrated technical mastery over various aspects of winemaking;
• The ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year Award and the Best Oenology Paper of the Year Award – these awards are proudly sponsored by Wine Australia and utilises an industry/science based panel to honour the authors of the respective viticultural and oenology papers where the potential application of the research to industry is deemed the most significant.